APS superintendent recommends closing 13 schools - CBS46 News

APS superintendent recommends closing 13 schools, community reacts

Posted: Updated:

Atlanta Public Schools Superintendent Errol Davis gave his redistricting recommendation to the board of education on Monday.

APS has the ability to have 60,000 students, but currently only has 47,000. Some schools are overcrowded while others are emptying out.

Davis recommended closing 13 elementary and middle schools, but said he is not overlooking the possibility of having to close high schools as well.

"We have 5,000 empty seats available in our high schools," Davis said. "One could easily conclude from that - we have too many high schools."

Members of the community had their first chance to voice their opinion Monday night.

"The north is expanding, growing and building, but the south is crumbling, thanks to you," said one father.

Some parents were grateful their children's school were spared from any changes.

"I thank you for the extraordinary amount of time and effort you all and the staff has put into this process," said a mother.

But mostly, people were just frustrated.

"This plan ensures no children of Kirkwood would benefit from the redistricting," said one parent.

Another said, "Do you have a plan in place to know it's a successful transition?"

A young boy stood at the podium and said, "I wish they didn't close our school because our school is wonderful and I can't go to a different school."

Byron Amos, the District 2 representative, said 40 percent of the schools that Davis recommended closing are in his district.

"We want a fighting chance in District 2," Amos said. "Our students have done everything that we adults have told them to do. But it's what we as adults have done to our kids."

Schools that Davis recommended closing include:

  • Boyd Elementary School
  • Capitol View Elementary School
  • Cook Elementary School
  • East Lake Elementary School
  • Fain Elementary School
  • F.L. Stanton Elementary School
  • Thomasville Heights Elementary School
  • Herndon Elementary School
  • White Elementary School
  • Humphries Elementary School
  • Coan Middle School
  • Kennedy Middle School
  • Parks Middle School

A series of School Reform Team, or SRT, areas are open to the public. The schedule is as follows:

  • March 12  - School Reform Team 1 & 4NW Cluster (schools zoned to Douglass, Mays, Washington high schools and B.E.S.T. and Coretta Scott King academies) - Douglas High School, 225 Hamilton E. Holmes Dr., 30318
  • March 13 - School Reform Team 4 NE Cluster (schools zoned to North Atlanta High School) - North Atlanta High School, 2875 Northside Dr., 30305
  • March 21 - School Reform Team 3 Cluster (schools zoned to Grady and Jackson high schools) - Jackson High School, 801 Glenwood Ave., 30316         
  • March 22 - School Reform Team 2 Cluster (schools zoned to South Atlanta and Carver high schools) - Carver High School, 55 McDonough Blvd., 30315

The times of all meetings are 6:30 p.m. to 8 p.m.

Copyright 2012 WGCL-TV (Meredith Corporation).  All rights reserved. 

Powered by WorldNow
CBS Atlanta
Powered by WorldNow
All content © 2000-2014 WorldNow and WGCL-TV. All Rights Reserved. For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service.