Higher taxes ahead for residents in 46 counties - CBS46 News

Higher taxes ahead for residents in 46 counties

Posted: Updated:

Georgians in 46 counties will soon be paying higher sales taxes in order to pay for better roads.

The extra penny-per-dollar tax for transportation projects was rejected by voters in most of the state last July. But three of the 12 regions that approved it will be paying the new tax starting New Year's Day.

State officials estimate the tax will generate $152 million in its first year and $1.8 billion over 10 years to widen highways, install new traffic lights and repair aging bridges.

The money will go to 13 east Georgia counties including the city of Augusta, and a 16-county region in west Georgia that includes Columbus and Americus. The third region covers 17 southeast Georgia counties that include the cities of Dublin, Vidalia and Jesup.

Copyright 2012 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

Powered by WorldNow
CBS Atlanta
Powered by WorldNow
All content © 2000-2014 WorldNow and WGCL-TV. All Rights Reserved. For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service.