Kennesaw State to compete in the Big South in Football in 2015 - CBS46 News

Kennesaw State to compete in the Big South in Football in 2015

Posted: Updated:

Kennesaw State will play its first season in 2015 as a member of the Big South Conference.

Big South commissioner Kyle B. Kallander announced Wednesday Kennesaw State will be eligible for the league's championship and automatic bid to the Football Championship Subdivision playoffs.

The Big South will have seven football schools with the addition of Kennesaw State. Other members are: Charleston Southern, Coastal Carolina, Gardner-Webb, Liberty, Presbyterian College and Monmouth, which will join in 2014.

Kennesaw State athletic director Vaughn Williams says the Owls anticipate "building great traditions and rivalries" in the conference.

Former Georgia Tech assistant Brian Bohannon was named Kennesaw State's first coach on March 24.

Kennesaw State will continue to compete in the Atlantic Sun Conference in other sports.

Copyright 2013 Associated Press.  All rights reserved.

Powered by WorldNow
CBS Atlanta
Powered by WorldNow
All content © 2000-2014 WorldNow and WGCL-TV. All Rights Reserved. For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service.