Gov. Deal addresses public about winter weather preps - CBS46 News

Gov. Deal addresses public about winter weather preps

Posted: Updated:

Gov. Nathan Deal held a news conference to inform the public about the steps that are being taken to prepare for the expected storm.

Monday morning, Deal convened the Operations Command, which consists of the directors of GEMA, DOT, State Patrol and Natural Resources, as well the commissioners for the Department of Public Health and the Department of Community Health and representatives from Georgia Power and the EMCs.

"We've included health officials and power companies in our preparations because heavy downfalls of ice can knock out power supply," Deal said. "I want to make sure we're reaching out to healthcare facilities so they can have backup plans in place."

Atlanta's fire and police chiefs and other key officials also attended the 11 a.m. meeting.

Ahead of the storm, Deal declared a state of emergency for 45 counties. The counties are as follows: Murray, Fannin, Gilmer, Union, Towns, Pickens, Dawson, Lumpkin, White, Cherokee, Forsyth, Hall, Banks, Jackson, Dade, Walker, Catoosa, Whitfield, Chattooga, Gordon, Floyd, Bartow, Polk, Paulding, Cobb, Fulton, Gwinnett, Barrow, Haralson, Carroll, Douglas, DeKalb, Clarke, Oconee, Oglethorpe, Wilkes, Walton, Rabun, Habersham, Stephens, Franklin, Hart, Madison, Elbert and Lincoln counties.

Deal will expand the order to additional counties as conditions warrant.

Copyright 2014 WGCL-TV (Meredith Corporation). All rights reserved.

Powered by WorldNow
CBS Atlanta
Powered by WorldNow
All content © 2000-2014 WorldNow and WGCL-TV. All Rights Reserved. For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service.