Traina Wins SEC Pitcher of the Year; Murphy is Coach of the Year - CBS46 News

Traina Wins SEC Pitcher of the Year; Murphy is Coach of the Year

Posted: Updated:

From UA Media Relations:

TUSCALOOSA, Ala . -  Four Alabama players made the Southern Conference's All-SEC team, announced Tuesday, including individual accolades for senior Jaclyn Traina, the 2014 SEC Pitcher of the Year, and Head Coach Patrick Murphy, the 2014 SEC Coach of the Year.

Traina, who also earned a spot on the First Team All-SEC, becomes just the second player in Alabama history to earn two SEC Pitcher of the Year awards, also earning the nod in her sophomore 2012 season. Former All-American Kelsi Dunne (2008-11) won back-to-back honors in 2010 and 2011. Traina was dominant in SEC play this season, compiling a 13-1 record over 15 starts with a 1.90 ERA. Four of her wins were against ranked opponents, including a pair against the then-top ranked Florida Gators in Gainesville, helping her win SEC Pitcher of the Week, USA Softball Player of the Week and NFCA Co-Player of the Week honors. Traina is just one win shy of earning the 100th of her career, which would make her just the third in Alabama history and the ninth in SEC history to surpass the triple-digit career mark.

Murphy, in his 16th season at the helm of the Crimson Tide, earns his fourth SEC Coach of the Year award, winning previously in 2006, 2010 and 2012. This year's SEC Championship is his fifth at Alabama, including four in the last five years. He owns an 833-223 all-time record at Alabama, becoming just the 16th current Division-I coach with at least 800 wins at their current school earlier this season. Prior to the start of the season, Murphy was inducted into the National Fastpitch Coaches Association Hall of Fame.

Sophomore Haylie McCleney earned spots on the First Team All-SEC and the SEC All-Defensive Team. The sophomore out of Morris, Ala., hit .386 in conference play with a team-leading 27 hits, 21 walks and 11 stolen bases. She started all 24 SEC games for Alabama, reaching base safely in all but one of them. In the field, she owned a perfect fielding percentage this season and earned an appearance on the ESPN SportsCenter Top 10 Plays with a diving catch at home against LSU. This season marks her first career appearance on the First Team All-SEC and her second-straight on the SEC All-Defensive Team.

Senior Kaila Hunt was one of five infielders named to the Second Team All-SEC, marking her third-straight appearance on an SEC postseason team. She earned Second Team honors last season and First Team honors during the Tide's 2012 championship season. Hunt led the team with five home runs in SEC play, helping push her career total to 57 which is just three shy of Kelly Kretschman's (1998-2001) school record of 60.

Senior Molly Fichtner makes her first career appearance on the SEC postseason award list, named as the lone catcher to the Second Team All-SEC. Fichtner led the Tide with a .391 average in conference play with 27 hits, seven doubles and 16 RBI. On defense, she threw out a conference-leading seven would-be base stealers in SEC play with just two errors and no passed balls. The Houston, Texas, native is in her second season with Alabama after transferring from UT-San Antonio following the 2012 season.

Alabama has had at least four All-SEC honorees in all but two seasons in program history and has earned at least one individual award in six of the last seven seasons. The SEC also announced its 2014 Community Service Team, with junior Jadyn Spencer as the Tide's representative.

First Team All-SEC
P – Jaclyn Traina, Alabama
P – Tori Finucane, Missouri
P – Chelsea Wilkinson, Georgia
IF – Madison Shipman, Tennessee
IF – Kelsey Stewart, Florida
IF –Alex Hugo, Georgia
IF – Paige Wilson, Georgia
IF – Corrin Genovese, Missouri
OF – Haylie McCleney, Alabama
OF – Branndi Melero, Auburn
OF – Melissa Davin, Tennessee
OF – Taylor Gadbois, Missouri
C – Annie Aldrete, Tennessee
DP/U – Sahvanna Jaquish, LSU

Second Team All-SEC
P – Ellen Renfroe, Tennessee
P – Hannah Rogers, Florida
P – Kelsey Nunley, Kentucky
IF – Kasey Cooper, Auburn
IF – Stephanie Tofft, Florida
IF –Emily Carosone, Auburn
IF – Kaila Hunt, Alabama
IF – Nikki Sagermann, Kentucky
OF – A.J. Andrews, LSU
OF – RT Cantillo, Ole Miss
OF – Cassie Tysarczyk, Texas A&M
OF – Emily Albus, Texas A&M
C – Molly Fichtner, Alabama
DP/U – Devon Wallace, Arkansas

Freshman All-SEC
P – Tori Finucane, Missouri
P – Alexis Silkwood, Mississippi State
P – Nickie Blue, South Carolina
P – Baylee Corbello, LSU
IF – Kasey Cooper, Auburn
IF – Caroline Seitz, Mississippi State
IF –Taylor Koening, Tennessee
IF – Megan Geer, Tennessee
IF – Kaylea Snaer, South Carolina
OF – Justine McLean, Florida
OF – Bailey Landry, LSU
OF - Shaliyah Geathers, Tennessee
C – Annie Aldrete, Tennessee
DP/U – Sahvanna Jaquish, LSU

SEC All-Defensive
P – Hannah Rogers, Florida
C – Griffin Joiner, Kentucky
1B – Taylor Schwarz, Florida
2B – Kelsey Stewart, Florida
SS – Madison Shipman, Tennessee
3B – Stephanie Tofft, Florida
LF – Mackenzie Sykes, Mississippi State
CF – Haylie McCleney, Alabama
RF – Cassie Tysarczyk, Texas A&M

Player of the Year: Madison Shipman, Tennessee
Pitcher of the Year: Jaclyn Traina, Alabama
Freshman of the Year: Tori Finucane, Missouri
Coach of the Year: Patrick Murphy, Alabama
Scholar-Athlete of the Year: Ellen Renfroe, Tennessee