Roswell officers honored for bravery, heroism - CBS46 News

Roswell officers honored for bravery, heroism

Posted: Updated:

The Roswell police officers who, last year, stopped a man who had just shot an Alpharetta police officer, were honored for stopping the gunman before he could hurt anyone else.

Alpharetta officer David Freeman pulled over Curtis Hicks for a suspected tag violation. When Freeman approached the car, Hicks fired several shots hitting the officer seven times. Hicks then fled and was involved in a high speed chase with officers from Roswell police who responded to the shooting.

"I can truthfully say that the thing that was running through my head the most was not to get shot, or any of my coworkers to get shot either," Sergeant Jason Wescott said. "I am grateful to the fact that we made it out alive and are here to talk about it today."

It was Wescott and Roswell officers Thomas Cooper and John Lathem who were in hot pursuit of Hicks down Georgia Highway 400. The entire chase Hicks was firing round after round down, shooting at officers as they tried to stop him.

"These guys did an excellent job that night, I am proud to be with them every day," Ofc. Thomas Cooper said. Cooper clearly remembers the chase and shooting. Like the other officers he feels lucky to be alive. When they were chasing Hicks the only thought Cooper said was running through his mind was to make sure Hicks did not escape.

"This guy cannot get away," Cooper said. "After what is going on, if he was able to escape and continue to go on, someone is going to get hurt."

An innocent driver, Griselda Cervantes was hit by a bullet in the cross fire. Cervantes was shot in the hip and the bullet is still lodged in her back. Cervantes said she doesn't know if police accidentally shot her or Hicks. If a surgeon decides to remove the bullet, investigators will then be able to determine whether she was shot by police or by Hicks.

Here is a complete list of the officers recognized for their bravery during the shooting:

Medal of Valor - Sergeant Jason Wescott

Medal of Valor - PO II Thomas Gregory Cooper

Medal of Valor - PO II John Lathem

Department Commendation Ribbon - PO I Zackery Foxen Kowalske

Department Commendation Ribbon - PO I Christopher Justin Reece

Department Commendation Ribbon - PO II Joshua Ott

Department Commendation Ribbon - Sergeant Kyle Ratliff

Department Commendation Ribbon - Detective Nicole Clutter

Department Commendation Ribbon - Lieutenant David Shepard

Copyright 2014 WGCL-TV (Meredith Corporation). All rights reserved.

Powered by WorldNow
CBS Atlanta
Powered by WorldNow
All content © 2000- 2014 WorldNow and WGCL-TV. All Rights Reserved. For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service.