Georgia farmers hurt by drought eligible for loans - CBS46 News

Georgia farmers hurt by drought eligible for loans

Posted: Updated:
Source: MGN Online Source: MGN Online

Federal authorities say Georgia farmers can apply for low-interest emergency loans to help cover some of their losses caused by a recent drought.

The U.S. Department of Agriculture announced Thursday that nine of state's counties were designated as primary natural disaster area due to losses caused by extreme drought conditions earlier this month. Those counties include Baldwin, Houston, Taliaferro, Bibb, Jones, Twiggs, Hancock, Peach and Wilkinson.

Farmers in 17 Georgia counties are also allowed to apply for loans because they are contiguous with the declared disaster area. Those counties include Bleckley, Jasper, Monroe, Taylor, Crawford, Johnson, Oglethorpe, Warren, Dooly, Laurens, Pulaski, Washington, Glascock, Macon, Putnam, Wilkes and Greene.

Copyright 2016 Associated Press. All rights reserved.

Connect with CBS46