Governor Deal declares state of emergency ahead of Hurricane Mat - CBS46 News

Governor Deal declares state of emergency ahead of Hurricane Matthew

Posted: Updated:

Governor Nathan Deal has issued a state of emergency for thirteen counties in Georgia’s coastal areas.

The state of emergency includes the following counties:

  • Brantley, Bryan, Bulloch, Camden, Charlton, Chatham, Effingham, Evans, Glynn, Liberty, Long, McIntosh and Wayne counties 

The National Hurricane Center forecasts Hurricane Matthew will travel dangerously close to the southeastern region of Georgia. 

“Hurricane Matthew is forecast to potentially impact the Georgia coast within 72 hours,” said Deal. “While the exact effects are unknown at this time, I’ve issued an emergency declaration for coastal counties effective October 5 and extending for seven days. I’ve ordered the Georgia Emergency Management and Homeland Security Agency (GEMHSA) to work with appropriate state and local agencies to ensure all precautions are taken to protect residents and minimize risks to property and roads. The safety of Georgians is our first priority, and we urge residents in these areas to remain calm but vigilant as they prepare for potential impact.”