Three justices appointed to Georgia Supreme Court - CBS46 News

Three justices appointed to Georgia Supreme Court

Posted: Updated:
Source: MGN Online Source: MGN Online

Governor Nathan Deal appointed three new justices to the Georgia Supreme Court Wednesday morning. The appointments will fill the vacancy created by the resignation of Honorable Hugh Thompson.

Two new seats to the court were added after the passage of House Bill 927 during the Georgia General Assembly. 

The three new justices are Michael Boggs, Britt Grant and Nels D. Peterson

Boggs and Peterson are currently judges on the Georgia Court of Appeals while Grant is the solicitor general for the office of the Georgia Attorney General.

The appointments take effect on January 1, 2017.

Copyright 2016 WGCL-TV (Meredith Corporation). All rights reserved.

Connect with CBS46