5 tornado warnings issued for 13 counties in Atlanta area - CBS46 News

5 tornado warnings issued for 13 counties in Atlanta area

Posted: Updated:
Rain in Floyd County (Source: WGCL) Rain in Floyd County (Source: WGCL)
(Source: Rodger Cote) (Source: Rodger Cote)

A big wave of showers and storms moved through metro Atlanta on Wednesday, producing heavy rain, lightning, damaging winds and several reported tornadoes.

PHOTOS: Severe weather in metro Atlanta

In all, five tornado warnings were issued in the Atlanta area Wednesday afternoon for 13 different counties.

MORE: How are tornado warnings issued? 

Tornado warnings issued in Atlanta area 

  • 12:52 PM for Carroll, Haralson and Paulding counties.
  • 12:38 PM for Cobb Fulton and Douglas counties.
  • 2:11 PM for Forsyth, Gwinnett and Hall counties.
  • 2:32 PM for Meriwether County.
  • 2:43 PM for Barrow, Clarke and Jackson counties.

The storms created damage throughout all of metro Atlanta, and especially in Cobb County where trees and power lines were down. CBS46 also received a photo of a large tree that was damaged in front of a house in Alpharetta.

In addition to damage, several school districts were left scrambling with storms moving through the region during the afternoon when many schools were preparing to release students. Instead, students were held a little longer in some parts of metro Atlanta, with some parents even being asked to wait before picking up their kids.

It's not unusual for severe thunderstorms and tornadoes to impact metro Atlanta in November, as chief meteorologist Jim Kosek recently pointed out in a special report.

MORE: A second severe weather season?

The National Weather Service will send two teams out in metro Atlanta on Thursday to analyze the damage so they can determine exactly how many tornadoes touched down in metro Atlanta, and where they occurred.

Copyright 2016 WGCL-TV (Meredith Corporation). All rights reserved. 

Connect with CBS46