4 hurricane names retired from 2017 season - CBS46 News


4 hurricane names retired from 2017 season

Posted: Updated:
(Source: WGCL) (Source: WGCL)

Hurricane names Harvey, Irma, Maria and Nate have been retired and will no longer be used after the extensive damage they caused in 2017.

Unless retired, storm names are reused every six years.

The retired names will be replaced with Harold, Idalia, Margot, and Nigel, which will all appear during the 2023 hurricane season.

Harvey was a category 4 hurricane that made landfall along the Texas coast on Aug. 25, producing flooding and historic rainfall totals in southeast Texas.

Irma became a category 5 hurricane that made seven landfalls in the Caribbean, the Florida Keys, and Florida. 

Maria was a category 5 hurricane that hit the island of Dominica on Sept. 19, later hitting Puerto Rico as a category 4 hurricane.

Nate made landfall along the northern Gulf Coast as a category 1 hurricane.

A total of 86 names have been retired from the Atlantic basin since storms started being named in 1954. The season that produced the most number of retired names was 2005, when five names were retired.

The storm names for the upcoming 2018 season are listed below:

  • Alberto
  • Beryl
  • Chris
  • Debby
  • Ernesto
  • Florence
  • Gordon
  • Helene
  • Isaac
  • Joyce
  • Kirk
  • Leslie
  • Michael
  • Nadine
  • Oscar
  • Patty
  • Rafael
  • Sara
  • Tony
  • Valerie
  • William

Copyright 2018 WGCL-TV (Meredith Corporation). All rights reserved. 

Real-time Feed from CBS46 Weather