State of emergency issued ahead of winter storm for southeast Georgia

(Source: WGCL)

Gov. Nathan Deal has issued a state of emergency for 28 counties in southeast Georgia ahead of a winter storm that will impact the area on Wednesday.

The winter storm will not impact metro Atlanta or north Georgia.

The state of emergency is effective immediately and includes the following counties: Appling Atkinson Bacon Brantley Bryan Bulloch Camden Candler Coffee Charlton Chatham Clinch Echols Effingham Evans Glynn Jeff Davis Lanier Lowndes Liberty Long McIntosh Pierce Screven Tattnall Toombs Ware Wayne A storm system will travel up the east U.S. coast Wednesday and combine with cold temperatures to produce snow in southeast Georgia, which is where winter storm warnings and winter weather advisories are already in effect.

Copyright 2018 WGCL-TV (Meredith Corporation). All rights reserved.

Digital Content Producer

Recommended for you